## The Orthodox Church & Schism in the West

Capital of Roman Empire moved from Rome to Constantinople (AD 325/330)

Five ancient
Patriarchates of the
Church: Rome,
Constantinople,
Alexandria, Antioch,
and Jerusalem

Claims of supremacy by Roman Pope (esp. Leo IX)

Roman Catholic Crusaders sack Constantinople (AD 1204)

Rome alters Nicene Creed (with filioque)

begins (AD 1517)

**Protestantism** 

Great Schism (AD 1054) – Roman Catholicism begins

Thousands of denominations & independent
Protestant congregations develop

St. Constantine
the Great
Resurrection & becomes
Ascension of Emperor
Jesus Christ/ (AD 306)
Pentecost

entecost (c. 33) Persecution ends Orthodox Christianity established as official Faith of Roman Empire under Emperor St. Theodosius (c. AD 381)

Charlemagne as Holy Roman Emperor by Pope (AD 800)

Crowning of

## The Holy Orthodox Church- continuing the Apostolic Tradition from generation to generation

Persecution of the Church under pagan Roman Emperors

The
evangelistic
mission of the
Church
continues

1st Ecumenical Council - Nicea (AD 325)

2nd Ecumenical Council - Constantinople (AD 381)

3rd Ecumenical Council - Ephesus (AD 431)

4th Ecumenical Council - Chalcedon (AD 451)

5th Ecumenical Council - Constantinople (AD 553)

5th Ecumenical Council - Constantinople (AD 553)

6th Ecumenical Council -

Constantinople (AD 680)/

Quinisext Council (AD 692)

Fall of Roman Empire
to Mohammedan
Ottoman Turks
(AD 1453)

Conversion of St.
Vladimir, Prince of Kiev

Fall of Roman Empire
to Mohammedan
Ottoman Turks
(AD 1453)

St. H

Baptism of Russia (AD 988) St. Herman arrives in Kodiak, Alaska from Russia (1794)

Monophysite Schism (Those not accepting Council of Chalcedon became "Oriental" communion) –

Coptic, Ethiopian, Indian, Syriac, etc.

Priest Symeon Kees 2013